My experience living abroad

Oxford Stories

10399999_10205847196013160_1957837917288604700_nRachel E. Anderson
The Oxford Eagle

At 19 years old, most college sophomores are worried about declaring a major or passing the next big exam.

I decided to move to Europe alone.

Initially, I planned to study abroad in Bilbao, Spain for six months. However, as life so often surprises you, I ended up extending my stay to live in Florence, Italy for two additional months for an internship.

After eights months, I returned to the United States a newer, more independent and self-aware Rachel. Living abroad helped me mature into my own personal identity and a responsible adult, teaching me much more than I had expected.

Going to Spain without any contacts or familiar faces forced me out of my comfort zone immediately. Immersion began as soon as I stepped off the plane.

I had be friendly, open-minded and ready to speak Spanish from the start. Because I was…

View original post 468 more words

Leave a Reply

